Fur: Faux or Against

So there’s a nation wide fur debate! I know, tell you something new you ask? I shall. Well, not entirely that new… Just my opinion. Excited aren’t you (:

In the Fall/Winter ’11 fashion shows there was more than an abundance of fur on the cat walk. Fendi, being notorious for their fur, led the way with beautiful two toned coats and accessories followed closely by other houses such as, Givenchy, Nina Ricci, Marni, Dsquared2, Jean Paul Gaultier but to name a few… and then, the act that made it globally acceptable to the fashion world; Chanel did it. Oh he didn’t! But yes, yes Karl Lagerveld did.

Fur is now acceptable. But really, who does wear genuine fur? Not many people I know. When I think of fur, I think of a large manor house that has been revamped so that it gleams with porcelain, granite, marble and has drapes that cost more than the average Joe’s annual salary. Fur is synonymous with luxury. Luxury that most normal are to privy to.

This is the point where I’m supposed to tell you that the harvesting of fur is terribly inhumane. That poor little animals are butchered in cold blood. And I should go on about how some people kill them while they’re still breathing but then graciously point out that some people actually breed animals to be killed for their fur.

But I won’t. Instead I will through another little word into the mix; Leather. Right now I am sitting cackling at my computer rubbing my hands together at the confusion that I have caused you. If you aren’t, for the sake of my sanity, pretend that you are confused.

If you wear leather, you really have no right to complain about fur. That’s why I’ve been so “impartial”. Because I love my leather jacket. I love leather boots. I would love leather gloves if I had them. Leather and fur are the same, except they are different sides of the skin. We don’t make fuss about leather, we don’t ask where it came from and how they killed the animal. We couldn’t care less. Why? Because no body really likes cows. But pretty furry animals? Oh yes I want me some of that animal protection campaign!

Why is it that we are so selective of our ideals? But the moral of my story is; next time you sneer at some picture of a fur coat claiming that you would never be so inhumane, go take a look at your closet and find your leather. Then shut your mouth because nobody likes a hypocrite.

oxox Serisha

About Improvising Fashion

17 year old who dreams of fashionable fairies and becoming the next Anna Wintour... only Indian, way skinny, and so much nicer.... better educated too.
This entry was posted in Fashion Views and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

